CARCD is deeply grateful to the committed individuals who are willing to volunteer their time to make our network a more inclusive, equitable space. It's going to take all of us working together toward shared goals to make the change we want to see. Thanks to these strong leaders who have stepped forward to put in the work to support their (and our) commitment. The committee is made up of CARCD staff and board members and RCD staff and board members that have different perspectives from (among other things) multiple levels of the organization, geographic and racial diversity. We hope to bring many voices together to get a 360 view of the challenges while recognizing that there are always voices missing from the room.

This JEDI committee is a co-created space that is defining the work we can do to remove the systemic barriers in our network. We are starting with a co-created charter that will include goals, objectives and ways to work together to get there.

Latest Updates

JEDI Committee Update as of August 2022

The JEDI Committee formed a subcommittee to work on the CARCD JEDI Charter. JEDI Committee members  established the Mission of the Charter and outlined roles and responsibilities pertaining to:

    • Intervention & Prevention of BIPOC staff
      leaving
    • Supporting & Retaining BIPOC staff
    • Policy & Programming
    • Hiring Practices
    • Education & Outreach
    • Addressing Grievances & Conflict
      Resolution
    • Admin & Communication

The Charter Committee sent a draft charter to the BIPOC Affinity Community and CARCD Board of Directors for feedback.  The Charter Committee is now finalizing the charter by working through the incorporation of  that feedback.  The committee hopes to send a finalized charter to the CARCD Board of Directors for approval  in the fall of 2022.  Once the charter is approved the JEDI committee will be a recognized board committee and can begin working toward meeting the goals set out in the charter.

 

Current Members
Member Name Organization Role Contact Information
Alma Eichman Inland Empire RCD Program Staff aeichman@iercd.org
Chris Lim Contra Costa RCD District Manager clim@ccrcd.org
Colleen Hatfield CARCD / Butte County RCD RCD Director hatfield001@gmail.com
Don Butz CARCD / RCD of Greater San Diego County RCD Director dhbutz@gmail.com
Eric McKee Napa RCD Program Staff eric@naparcd.org
Erica Harris San Mateo RCD Program Staff erica@sanmateorcd.org
Jeff Borum East Stanislaus RCD Program Staff soilhealth@eaststanrcd.org
Jelly Kahler RCD of Santa Monica Mountains Program Staff akahler@rcdsmm.org
John James El Dorado RCD RCD Director john_c_james@att.net
Karen Buhr CARCD District Manager karen-buhr@carcd.org
Kellyx Nelson CARCD / San Mateo RCD District Manager kellyx@sanmateorcd.org
Michelle Katuna Marin RCD Program Staff michelle@marinrcd.org
Nancy Wahl-Scheurich CARCD Project Manager nancy-wahlscheurich@carcd.org
Peter Braudrick CARCD / Mendocino County RCD RCD Director lybra@mcn.org
Shannon Drew
Sonoma RCD Program Staff sdrew@sonomarcd.org
Victor Briones Colusa County RCD Program Staff victor@colusarcd.org
William Johnson Honey Lake Valley RCD RCD Director wjohnson@honeylakevalleyrcd.us