CARCD is deeply grateful to the committed individuals who are willing to volunteer their time to make our network a more inclusive, equitable space. It's going to take all of us working together toward shared goals to make the change we want to see. Thanks to these strong leaders who have stepped forward to put in the work to support their (and our) commitment. The committee is made up of CARCD staff and board members and RCD staff and board members that have different perspectives from (among other things) multiple levels of the organization, geographic and racial diversity. We hope to bring many voices together to get a 360 view of the challenges while recognizing that there are always voices missing from the room.

This JEDI committee is a co-created space that is defining the work we can do to remove the systemic barriers in our network. We are starting with a co-created charter that will include goals, objectives and ways to work together to get there.

JEDI Committee Formation

The JEDI committee is currently creating a charter to define roles, purpose, agreements and membership. This is a co-created process of CARCD board, CARCD staff, RCD board members and RCD staff who came forward to volunteer their time. The committee is functioning in an open format and interested people are encouraged to participate as little or as much as they would like. Please see the meetings below and join at any time.

At the completion of the charter, the charter will be presented to the CARCD board for adoption. The committee is a sub-committee of the CARCD board under the by-laws of the organization.

Two Groups are meeting to create the charter – the overall committee and a sub-group of that committee creating the details of the charter.

Overall JEDI Formation Committee

The overall committee is meeting twice a month. The committee is discussing the work of the charter committee, connecting on bigger picture issues and other issues that affect the formation of the committee.

Upcoming meetings:

Tentative: October 18th from 2pm to 4pm.  Click here for the Zoom link.

Charter Committee

The Charter Committee is a subset of the overall committee that wants to engage in the fine detail of formation. This committee also meets twice a month on opposite weeks as the overall committee. The charter committee is creating the draft charter by working on the details of the document, talking through issues that arise, and adjusting language accordingly. Topics of discussion include the logistics of the committee and membership, scope of the committee, purpose, intention and the formation of a grievance committee. The charter committee presents their work to the overall committee for reflection, feedback and big-picture thinking.

Upcoming meetings:

October 7, 3pm – 4:30pm

 

Mission and Charter

The JEDI Committee is currently co-creating and developing their mission statement and committee charter. Please check back soon for more updates. We will post documents and progress as they become available.

Committee Meeting Notes

September 22, 2021

Current Members
Member Name Organization Role Contact Information
Alma Eichman Inland Empire RCD Program Staff aeichman@iercd.org
Chris Lim Contra Costa RCD District Manager clim@ccrcd.org
Colleen Hatfield CARCD / Butte County RCD RCD Director hatfield001@gmail.com
Don Butz CARCD / RCD of Greater San Diego County RCD Director dhbutz@gmail.com
Elissa Robinson Contra Costa RCD Program Staff erobinson@ccrcd.org
Eric McKee Napa RCD Program Staff eric@naparcd.org
Erica Mikesh Sonoma RCD Program Staff emikesh@sonomarcd.org
Erica Harris San Mateo RCD Program Staff erica@sanmateorcd.org
Jelly Kahler RCD of Santa Monica Mountains Program Staff akahler@rcdsmm.org
John James El Dorado RCD RCD Director john_c_james@att.net
Karen Buhr CARCD District Manager karen-buhr@carcd.org
Kellyx Nelson CARCD / San Mateo RCD District Manager kellyx@sanmateorcd.org
Marianna Zavala CARCD Program Staff marianna-zavala@carcd.org
Michelle Katuna Marin RCD Program Staff michelle@marinrcd.org
Miguel Garcia Napa RCD Program Staff miguel@naparcd.org
Nancy Wahl-Scheurich CARCD Project Manager nancy-wahlscheurich@carcd.org
Peter Braudrick CARCD / Mendocino County RCD RCD Director lybra@mcn.org
Victor Briones Colusa County RCD Program Staff victor@colusarcd.org
William Johnson Honey Lake Valley RCD RCD Director wjohnson@honeylakevalleyrcd.us